Listening and Hearing

Are you a good listener? Or do you hear but not listen? There is a difference. I think we moms (and maybe some dads) are such great multi-taskers that sometimes we are guilty of hearing but not listening.

Many years ago, when my youngest (of four) was about 4, I had set her at the kitchen table to start my day of never-ending laundry. I had kissed my husband goodbye, sent him to work and waited with the other three at the bus stop. Now, two hours later, MY day was beginning.

My daughter was scooched in to the table with coloring books, stickers, safety scissors and a big tub of crayons and markers. All the necessary “ingredients” to keep her busy and occupied for at least three or four minutes, while I started the days laundry. I had gone back and forth through the kitchen to the laundry room several times, bringing laundry from the various rooms, trash from yonder, the stray dish, bowl or cup from the night before. As I was “choring”, I kept hearing “sniffing”. Now I am not a “helicopter” mom. I don’t hover. Dirt doesn’t bother me. Scrapes, bruises, boxing it out among siblings….nah….but “sniffing” I simply cannot handle. If you got goobers, get ’em out! I never, ever run out of boxes of kleenex! It’s just a pet peeve of mine. I don’t know why I have a booger-phobia….I just do. My house can be a disaster, dusty, dishes in the sink…but you will never not be able to blow your nose! Anyway, I digressed….

I kept hearing the “sniffing” from my daughter. I couldn’t stand it anymore and said “what are you doing”? She didn’t answer me so, I made a trip directly to her. I was mortified to find that she had found, in the crayon box, a bottle of Elmer’s glue and was sniffing it!!!!! Oh my gosh! She replied “it smells good, mommy”! Wow! I had “heard” her but wasn’t “listening” right away to see what was going on! Mommy-fail!

This all happened over 15 years ago. I’ve never forgotten it and never will. For the obvious reasons but it also was a learning lesson for me. I know God is always there and listens and hears my prayers, thoughts, tears and fears. However, I, ashamedly, don’t always “listen” to what He has to say. Sometimes He has to smack me around a little bit to get His point across. I know He does it because He loves me. I don’t know why He puts up with me the way He does, but I am sure grateful!

I am learning to “listen” to Him and stepping out of my comfort zone for what He wants me to do. It is not always easy, but, ultimately, it is His will that is best for me. Even when I think I know better. I am so glad that He is a much better parent than I am and that He forgives when I get it wrong. I only want to please Him and let his light shine through me. Maybe someone who needs it will “hear” and “listen” as I let Him speak through me.

Be a blessing to someone and you will be blessed

Leave a comment